could I detect coins in my dogs belly? (seriously)

dynosour

Sep 4, 2009
could I detect coins in my dog's belly? (seriously)

Hi all -

sorry - I'm a newbie here, and this question might sound absurd.... but I am serious.

I have a family dog that seems to like eating coins. She's already had surgery once to remove a quarter, and still she eats them. often we catch her with them in her mouth, and sometimes she'll cough one up. x-rays at the vet, obviously, are expensive at $100 a pop everytime we have cause to wonder if something else is in there. So I'm wondering if a more economical alternative to determine whether or not an x-ray is even necessary could be to run a metal detector over her belly. Could your standard US coins be picked up through dog flesh, INCLUDING pennies? (she's ~ 30lbs, ~ 12" in diameter max.).

I appreciate any advice. (including things like..." a 'quality' detector might work, but not your basic entry-level detector" etc.) If this idea held promise, I'd start with renting a detector from the local rental store, and may well consider investing in one for the future (this silly dog is young - there could potentially be many years of coin eating ahead of us!) Thanks a whole lot - gary in the carolinas.

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
Re: could I detect coins in my dog's belly? (seriously)

If it can detect to that depth in an air test, then yes: I can do it through innert objects too (soil, flesh, rock, etc....). A friend of mine's toddler swalled a coin (or so they feared), because he had grabbed at some coins sitting on a table (as toddlers are apt to do, and stick everything in their mouth). A check with my metal detector confirmed it: a penny/dime is his stomach. The detector even TID'd what kind of coin it was :)