Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Resurfacing tot lots? What's the deal?

For years the tot lot playgrounds have had about a foot of sand hauled in around the swings, slides and climbing towers. Within the last few years they have started removing the sand and putting in heavy rubber mats. They look like they are made from shredded rubber tires compressed into mats. At this rate there won't be any more tot lots to hunt. I seldom hunt them since I was a newbie but I always like to go there to test my equipment or to show a tyro how it works. Anyone else notice this change or is it just me? Monty

Digger

Mar 24, 2003
Dodge City Kansas
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, E-Trac, Makro Racer 2, DFX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Re: Resurfacing tot lots? What's the deal?

Are you in a small town? The reason I ask is your city sounds a little behind times or you live in a cool climate.

My favorite city park tot lot was changed from wood chips to that shredded rubber several years ago, but since that time they've found that on a hot day the rubber will burn the children's bare feet, they stopped using it.

slowNsteady

Mar 26, 2010
Broken Arrow, OK
Detector(s) used
Whites Beach Hunter, Fisher 1220 1225 F2 F4, BH Land Star, Garrett Ace 250, Tesoro Vaquero

I think they're just trying to make the parks more maintenance free. I don't know about Sand Springs, but here in BA the city has had a hiring freeze for years trying to keep the budget under control. The parks dept gets the axe first. We've still got wood chips, but the newer parks have the matting around the swings. The rage was shredded rubber for a while, but there have been rumors flying that it may not be as safe as everyone thought. As long as our town is broke, they'll leave it be I think.

bigscoop

Gold Member
Jun 4, 2010
Wherever there be treasure!
Detector(s) used
Older blue Excal with full mods, Equinox 800.
Primary Interest: