whites 6000di pro hammering my dfx

cellar dweller

Jan 7, 2007
connecticut
Detector(s) used
whites dfx , minelab excal II
Hello, I'm new to hunting so an old friend whom has been hunting for years inviting me to a colonel home site he's frequented. He found two buttons.a brass tack. a musket ball, piece of pewter spoon and a lead chunk with his old whites 6000 DI pro and the 9.5 blue max coil. I found one piece of lead with my dfx and 9.5 wide band coil on the preset relic mode. I know if you don't go over it your not going to find it , but sensing something other he called me over on a good hit.He was getting a high (button or coin) on his meter at around 7 inches deep. I swept over the spot and barely got a blip on the signagraph and no vdi. As the hole was dug i swung again and got a 78 over the 6inch hole. at 7 inch he pull a king George II copper out. Thinking I'll never hurt his chances at this site i now have open invitation to go. How do i tweak my settings to get deeper stronger hits?

BARGuy

Jan 9, 2007
Out & About
Detector(s) used
White's 6000 Di Pro SL
And folks wonder why I'm still swingin' my old "heavy" analog 'tector with an MXT in the closet! :headbang:

DR

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
The 6000 Di pro. was and is a very good detector. That generation of 6000 came out in the very early 1990s, as I recall, and there are a lot of hunters that ...... to this day .... refuse to switch. Some of them, for example, switched over to machines like the XLT came out, just *assuming* that "newer meant better". But they switched back to their 6000 Di pro's. There was just something about that bouncing needle, that experienced users learned a lot of target info. from. And as far as depth: with all due respect to the DFX, I think that the depth will be about the same, for standard coin/relic hunting, when comparing the 6000 Di pro to the DFX.