Lost, anyone have some ideas?

Big Tx Hunter

Greenie
Mar 5, 2011
Rowlett, Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Hi there, I am new to this whole thing and have always wanted to get into this hobby. I am picking up my Ace 350 today and wanting to head out and look for coins, rings, relics or whatever else i can find. Heck i would be happy with a couple pennies:)

I am wondering where the best places to start are going to be at... How can i find old maps so i can find old campsites, farm houses, Churches, heck any were really that is old and untouched.

I have driven around a lot looking for places, but not sure where to start or what would be allowed... I live in Texas so i know there has to be some nice stuff waiting to be dug up:)

Looking for feed back, hopefully soon because i am heading out tonight.. maybe start at the local school yards and check the tot lots, and the middle school lots.

I was told that High school football Fields are GREAT places to check for rings, your thoughts?

crazyjarhead

Gold Member
Sep 10, 2007
N. San Diego County
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Welcome to Tnet. Parks are a good place to start. Local libraries are good for research. Soccer fields, schools (when not in session) also Good luck and hope to see some of your finds on here soon :icon_sunny:

OP
OP
B

Big Tx Hunter

Greenie
Mar 5, 2011
Rowlett, Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Thank you Crazy. . .

I will make sure to post on here what my first find was. . . Even if it is an old tin can :)

I will check the library too

Daedalus

Feb 2, 2011
Strafford , Missouri
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sovereign GT / MineLab X-Terra 705
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Just about any place , just find one and start and move around from there.
If in doubt about if you can or not hunt call the City parks ,City hall or stop or talk to the police department and ask.
If they do not know they will know where to have you call.