Need of help with detector purchase!

mngirl

Tenderfoot
Apr 4, 2011
I am new to the hobby and would like to get advice on which metal detector to purchase. I have read that multifunction detectors are good all around machines, but are they and which brand??? I am sure that it is not an easy question to answer, but if I don't start somewhere, I will never know. I would like to use it on land and in fresh water lakes/rivers. I am looking for a middle of the road pricepoint detector that can pick up metals (gold, silver, etc..) and objects.

Any help would be much appreciated, guidance from others who know is my moto!

Thank you for your consideration,
Mngirl

liftloop

Silver Member
May 7, 2008
lakelinden mi
Detector(s) used
MXTdeepscan 8by14dd, bulls eye 2, 5900diprosl Maxima1500, Master Hunter cx plus Treasure Hound, surf
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
first of all welcome to T'net,White's detector are a good brand, tesoro give's the best warranty.mine lab has a lot to offer,I would stick to a White's M6 or the 6t or the prizm 5 G will get you started and and be easy to operate there not a water detector but the loops are submersible but not the control box.
you should find deep coins 8 to 12 inches with any one of them.depending on the size of the coin and the ground matrix.the mxt is a real good detector a little expensive but an all a round good detector.
there will be other people on her to give there two cents any time now. It's very addicting.So have fun read as much as you can,and practice,practice,practice.What ever you decide you will have fun.

liftloop

neuseman

Mar 11, 2011
Beaufort NC
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 and Omega 8000
Check out the Garrett AT Pro! Seems to be a good all around detector and also waterproof to ten feet wich is a big plus.

micprec

Mar 7, 2011
Michigan
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATPro