Scouting an original mid 1700s settlement.

scott26038

Mar 5, 2011
I am a beginner, own a White's MXT that I used twice and am getting used to the signals, methods, etc..

I live in North Carolina and I have been doing a lot of research on OLD settlements from in the early to mid 1700s here in our area off the Cape Fear River. After super-imposing old historic maps in scale (from 1800s) over Google Earth, I am able to identify where there should be some old foundations (or what's left of them) from this time period. They are on some vacant land that the city/county owns. I have been told that there is no problem with me visiting these sites. Police Officer and Sherriff Deputy both agree that it is ok for me to detect. I simply cannot bring my vehicle on the land even though gates to the site are easily bypassed.

When exploring this site(s), what setting should I use mostly? Relic hunting? And, given the huge amount of expertise that this forum, what do y'all think I should be targeting? Iron? Silver/Gold? What do you think I should call a success if I put in 3-4 days at this location?

I'll see if I can attach the google earth snapshot where I have identified potential target areas based on historical maps.

Attachments

• North Water St - Old Campbelton.jpg
    North Water St - Old Campbelton.jpg
    125.2 KB · Views: 278

Swartzie

Mar 15, 2009
Tuscarawas County, Ohio
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting