Metal Detecting in san diego

08curranc

Tenderfoot
May 15, 2011
hi i am wondering if anyone knows of any good spots in san diego where it is legal to metal detect. im new to this and want to know if i can metal detect on the beaches or any parks. are there laws regarding this? please let me know. I don't want to break any laws or get fined. Thanks

Mackaydon

Gold Member
Oct 26, 2004
N. San Diego Pic of my 2 best 'finds'; son & g/son
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
O8C:
Welcome to Treasure Net !!
I can't think of a beach in the San Diego area where, if tresspassing is allowed, MD is not.
Also, if you still have Qs regarding the Franklin Mint medal you found PM me with your Qs; I may be able to help.
Don.........

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
08curranc, most of the beaches along the san diego shoreline, are state-owned beaches, right? (as opposed to city, county, or federal). State beaches are under the jurisdiction of the state parks dept. And *technically* there is "cultural heritage" verbage in the state park's dept. rules. However, it has ....... in practice ...... never been applied to beaches. Some state land parks have applied it to say "no detecting" (while at others, no one seems to care). Technically, there's no reason why such verbage wouldn't apply to state beaches, in the same way as to land parks. But ..... that's just the way it's evolved, and we all "leave good enough alone" :-*