Wherein Dan Turns Down a Hollywood Treasure Reality Show

Dan Hughes

Aug 26, 2008
Champaign, IL
Detector(s) used
Several
I received this email this morning:

Hi Dan,

My name is Jason Panick and I'm a reality TV producer in California.

I came across your youtube videos and have been looking for someone to be in a concept we are developing about metal detection/treasure hunting.

Would this be something you may be interested in? We are looking for BIG personalities and a show that would take people all over finding hidden treasures.

If you are personally interested, or know someone who fits the bill who you could recommend, please let me know. Thanks and take care!

I answered,

Hi Jason,

I'm flattered, but radio is my niche, not TV. I've been in radio (DJ, news, sports, manager, college instructor) for 40 years.

I did do a TV show for 25 years on the side (I was the Alex Trebeck of east central Illinois), but I had all my questions (and answers!) right there in front of me. I was never comfortable talking without a script - and my memorization skills are nil.

Plus, I hate reality TV.

Finally, sponsors for a treasure hunting show may be hard to come by. The only detector manufacturer I've ever seen running TV spots is White's. The other companies (Fisher, Tesoro, Garrett, Bounty Hunter, and Australia's Minelab) limit their ads to treasure magazines and internet treasure forums. I'm afraid that would be a hard nut to crack.

Best of luck to you, and let me know if you carry this idea onward,

---Dan

Sky Pilot

Bronze Member
Dec 2, 2007
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Several Fisher, Tesoro, White's and Garrett's
I agree with you Dan, I hate reality television. Talk about a misnomer!! LOL!

On the other hand, it is a cool idea I suppose.

Sky Pilot

hombre_de_plata_flaco

Bronze Member
Apr 24, 2011
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Delta 4000