Noob here and I need advice

mclldavidson

Aug 16, 2011
I have always been interested in metal detectors since I used my grandpa's years ago. I have decide I want to buy one, but I do not know where to begin. I do not want a cheap one I will regret buying but I don't want to spend a lot of money either. I put an ad on craigslist looking for one and a guy emailed me and offered a Garret Treasure Ace 100 for $75 and an MP3 Pro Digital for $150

I don't mind buying used and I really don't want to spend more than a couple hundred, unless I need to in order to be worth my time

Smudge

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2010
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
A Propointer tied to a stick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
For $200, the Ace 250 is your best bet. The Ace 350 is more expensive.

njnydigger

Jun 4, 2009
Detector(s) used
I've swung White's (MXT), Minelab (Safari) & currently run with an Omega 8000 by Teknetics & Fisher CZ-3D (1021 Model)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
While a lot of folks use & swear by the Ace line, I myself didn't care for it. IMHO I'd go for something on the lower end by Fisher (F2 or F5) or Tesoro. Both brands are light years ahead of the Ace line as far as I'm concerned & Tesoro's even come with a lifetime warranty :thumbsup:

sandtrout

Jan 27, 2010
it's like trying on shoes.....

I have an ACE 250 (from the ACE line and a Tesoro Vaquero (from the "beep and dig" line) and I love them both but I've learned them both. If you're mostly doing park hunting and beach (on the dry sand) hunting then the ACE ain't bad...ONCE YOU LEARN IT. All detectors will read metal but sometimes one FEELS better TO YOU than another one will....a better "fit" for you and your type of hunting. It's like trying on shoes. Lots of size 12 but they all feel differently. You won't go wrong with any of the detectors mentions ONCE YOU LEARN IT.

S

stefen

It seems that the preponderance of hunters on TN use a 250...