Does the detector exist that does equally well on water and land?

trueTreasure

Greenie
Sep 13, 2011
Hi all. I'm new totally new to the forum and mostly new to MDing, and I hope this doesn't annoy everyone as being a totally newb type question unworthy of response. It's just that, well...I am a newb.

I've been borrowing a relatives Spectrum XLT here and there over the past year or two and been out maybe a dozen times, mostly to parks, schools, etc. I've decided to make the jump and get my machine and, since I live near the Great Lakes, and also have some trips planned to the coast, I'd like to get a machine that can handle both shallow water/dry sand detecting, as well as MD inland. Does such a machine even exist?

I've been reading up on the Sand Shark which seems to get high marks, but wonder whether it could handle many inland sites given it's a PI machine. I'm sure there are probably a whole slew of things that aren't even on my radar screen. Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance your help.

doglover

Aug 30, 2011
Take a look at Garretts new AT Pro. It is submersible up to 11 ft. under water and works well on land and water. You can hunt in a lake with it and when its raining since you don't have to worry about getting it wet. Has good target separation with a double d coil and 6 different operating modes. Has manuel and automatic ground balancing. Its hot on gold and also great for coin hunting. Since I've owned mine, I've found a gold bangle with it and a class ring. Brand new it runs about $600. I'm not a dealer or trying to sell you one but I would take a look at it if you want a unit that can operate on land and water equally well.

Bart@Big Boys Hobbies

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Jul 24, 2005
Moore Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Call for your Treasurenet special discount! Be sure to mention Tnet when you call!
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting