How deep will your detector read?

D

damz68

I got a minelabs xterra 30. I was playing around with it in the house and decided I would do some test on coins and get the number on each to help better identify. I could not help but notice that I would not even get a reading if 4 or more inches above the target, a S.B.A. Dollar! Is this normal, I cant help but think that 4" inches is not going to hit much of anything that is not clad. I also tested it on a gold ring, it gave me a reading of 24 and only sounded at 3" or closer. I cranked the sensitivity up to 10, it was on 7, and I was getting a lot of false readings. I guess it would be better to try it out outdoors, but even so it just seems like it would hit at least 6".

Is this normal for Minelabs?

Blind.In.Texas

Bronze Member
Sep 1, 2006
Lone Star State
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
yeah, i agree about the air test, but, i am no expert. it does work well for air tests when you first buy the machine and then pass it over several visible objects for learning purposes. it is very dead-on for that.

i have the BH 3300. good machine. it doesn't lie, but, it goes just about as deep as i want to dig. 8" i BELIEVE is the max depth on it. any time there is liquid content in sand mine will say 8" but it actually goes as deep as 24". shoots through rocks and pebble piles saying 4"-5" but it is usually only surface to 1", mulch conditions it reads pretty accurately. but the one rule i try to live by if at all possible......if it beeps, dig it until it doesn't. :)

do your machine do that? or is it more accurate. my kinda has a learning curve to it i guess. took a while for me to get used to it. that's why i gave it up right after i started a couple years ago.

Ocean7

Bronze Member
Apr 15, 2004
SE, PA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800
Minelab Explorer II
Garrett MASTER HUNTER 7
Garrett ADS DEEPSEEKER
Compass X100
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting