Need some help please

T

Tarbaby

I have the opportunity of a lifetime. I have the chance to detect approximately 15 old foundations that are buried deep in the woods in Northern Ontario and have been there since 1850's. There is even an old sidewalk type laneway there.

I have no experience about how to hunt in these type areas that may be full of old stones, nails etc. and not level ground, which is what I am use to

How is the best way to approach this and can someone give me some good advice on where to look first, I have only 2 days and then back home and the next trip will be next spring.

Thanls for any help

Tarbaby

Blind.In.Texas

Bronze Member
Sep 1, 2006
Lone Star State
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
i suggest keeping the sensitivity down, because, it can include a large and deep area with the swing. if the terrain has lots of buried rock they can report a lot of falsies and make digging quite laborious. when you get there you can dig a couple of small holes at each new area just to sample the conditions. this will help you determine what your machine is looking through. nicely though, if the terrain is quite rocky, many of your finds may actually be quite close to the surface!! how nice would that be?

should a particular area be not-so-rocky, then, you can increase that sensitivity until your machine begins to report falsies...if you only have two days, i am not so sure i would dig everything in all-metall mode. not the first day anyway. maybe you could discriminate the first day if you are having really good luck and cover as much ground as possible. then in the spring run all-metal-mode and dig everything to see what you missed the last time!!

pay special attention to the house within about ten feet or so of the structure. this is where most human activity was, like, painting, repair, gardening, construction and playtime.

Good luck and now i am very excited to know what you will bring back!!

Gypsy Heart

Gold Member
Nov 29, 2005
Ozarks