Florida Keys detecting

Southernhunter

Sep 21, 2006
Florida
Good day all, :)

I am planning a Florida Keys vacation for the family for a week and plan to bring my detector to scoop some sand & hopefully some other good stuff!

Is anyone generally familiar with the rules & regs for beach detecting in the Keys if any? General protocol would be welcome also as I am relatively new to the practice.

Thanks!

diggummup

Gold Member
Jul 15, 2004
Somewhere in the woods
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
As far as I know you can detect all beaches in the Keys with the exception of Biscayne National Park and other areas around Key Largo like the Marine Sanctuary and John Pennekamp state park.I've never had a problem in the middle or lower Keys.Good luck and keep us posted!

buscadero

Bronze Member
Jul 16, 2006
Corpus Christi, Tx.
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Southern Hunter: I always understood that 0ld Coins were being found on the Beaches of Tavernier, Plantation, & Grassy Keys.

This is Second Hand info tho! I personally never hunted there! The 1st 2 are N. of Islamorada, The 3rd is S.

Good Luck & have a nice vacation!

Joe

Z

ZipDogg

I'm also from the south, Central AL. From what I've been reading onTN, beaches are the number 1 choice for places to detect for gold and silver jewelry, shipwreck remains(gold coins,etc.). People say that after a big rainstorm is the best time to go. Go to the busiest place, (before or after the busy times). Weekday early mornings or late evenings. I'll bet you will score !
Keep us informed on your finds.
Good pics are always enjoyed ! :)

OP
OP
S

Southernhunter

Sep 21, 2006
Florida
Thanks for your replies,
As far as I can tell the beaches (not the dunes) are open season.
I'm going to rent a 19 foot boat for the week & go MD some uninhabited islands as well. Perhaps there haven't been too many detectorist out there. :-\