any pointers?

captain Jack

Sep 26, 2006
Richmond, Va
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
I am very new to the hobby and live in a very historical part of Virginia. Does anyone have any pointers for asking permission to hunt someone's yard or land? I don't have a problem confronting people, but I'm not sure how to make it sound like "Hi, I wanna dig holes in your yard, cool?" Any tips for success from the many people who seem to be digging everyone's yards up? :)

shootist

Aug 5, 2006
The hills of central Kentucky
Detector(s) used
Explorer 2
I think I would practice up on your detecting and digging technique before you attempt peoples yards. Try your yard or abandoned lots,closed gas stations,old stores schools then when you start getting a little better at pinpointing start hitting some parks and when you are pretty sure you could find a good item if it was under your coil then try and get into maybe a relative or friends yard by then you should have your technique refined enough to try some strangers yards. If you search around this site you can find tips on anything detecting from tools and digging to permission slips that you can print out and mail to people. When I first started I was dying to hit some yards but Ive researched and kept my eyes open while driving and found so many spots I dont see the need to knock on doors for a while to come good luck in your hunting let us know how it goes :}

Shamus

Sep 27, 2006
Washington state
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV
One idea I had today is that it would be a good idea to carry about a two foot square piece of heavy plastic sheet such as Visqueen, and put the dirt on it when you dig in grassy areas. That way you don't get dirt and pebbles all over someone's lawn, plus you can get all of the dirt back in the hole so you don't leave a depression that someone might stumble over. I figure that if you take pains like this to keep people's lawns nice you might have a better chance getting the okay to dig.