Minelab E trac or Whites Spectra V3i for coinshooting?

bonepicker

Bronze Member
Jan 5, 2012
MS, Lynchberg
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Hi, I would like some opinions/advice from some of you more experienced treasure hunters.
Maybe some of you have not experienced using both detectors to compare them, but you can share your experiences using either one of the two.

I am still new at metal detectoring and have been learning alot.
I have been coming here and reading and watching your videos.
I purchased a new whites v3i almost 4 months ago.
I hunt several times a week and have been hard at it trying to make some good finds, but still havent gotten the results i had hoped for.
I live in south mississippi and most of the areas i hunt are high trash.
I have found a few silver coins, several wheats, a couple V-nickels, buffalos, etc.
The V3i seems very difficult to setup sometimes, and i am not getting the desired depth. Or i do get a good deep signal, and then it ends up being a trash signal several inches away from my coil much shallower.
When i watch most of the videos on youtube, you guys are always using the minelab e trac, is the Etrac a superior machine? and is it easier to setup and get started with?
Im trying to decide, :BangHead: if i should keep on pluggin with the v3i, or switch to a e-trac.
My main interest is coinshooting, the v3i has prospectin, meteorite, relic, etc., which sounds neat, but really not much interest for me, esp for my area.
Also how does the e trac work on salt beaces, because im right on the gulf of mex. and plan on workin the beach some this summer.

thanks

justanotherbarber

Jan 30, 2012
Tucson, AZ
Detector(s) used
Vaquero, Delta 4000
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting