Burdie

Gold Member
Nov 13, 2005
South Central Kansas
Detector(s) used
Etrac
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was wondering what you guys and gals thought on this issue.
Is a coin such as a nickle found in the ground and red in color the same grade as a collectors grade? For example a V nickle that would grade as Fine by a coin book standards be the same as one identical except for the reddish color because it was found in the ground. Can you correctly say the found coin is graded fine? What are your thoughts on this.

Burdie

Monty

Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Birdman, I'm no coin expert but a purist would probably downgrade it because of the color. However there is a class of collectors out there now that specialize in stained or dug coins and I don't know how they grade a coin. I know that they downgrade it if it's been cleaned. So you may be talking apples and oranges? Monty

hollowpointred

Gold Member
Mar 12, 2005
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE/Garrett GTI 2500/ Ace 250
i always thought that stained coins like nickels would be called "corroded" or "damaged". im no coin grading expert though.

mountainman 2

Bronze Member
Aug 9, 2006
Extreme Northern NJ
Detector(s) used
whites classic sl,whites surfmaster,garrett ATX,minelab vanquish 540
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There is a notation in the 2005 redbook that states that damaged coins such as those that are bent, corroded,scratched,holed,nicked,stained,or mutilated are worth less than those without defects.So a stained coin is considered damaged.MM2

Blackjack77

Jun 16, 2006
Minnesota
Don't the grading services use microscopes to grade coins?
I would imagine a dug coin will show minute scratches from
contact with sand,dirt,etc.
Up North,the freeze thaw cycle must mar them too.

bazinga

Silver Member
Oct 31, 2005
High Five!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting