Sell...or keep rings

brian11

May 12, 2009
San Francisco Bay area
Detector(s) used
DFX
I am wondering what others do with your valuable finds. Do you sell the gold and and platinum rings that you find, or keep them? I have been detecting for about 4 years, and have never sold anything. About a year ago, I went to a couple of places to see what I could get for the rings. I was hearing about $250 - $350 for a gold ring, and about $400 for the one platinum ring I have. I did not sell any. I have kept them with coins and other good finds as "trophys". Now I'm thinking of selling. I am curious....what is the general concensus out there? Do you keep your rings or sell them?
rings.jpg

Okie115

Apr 15, 2012
Virginia Beach, VA
Detector(s) used
ACE 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I would say if you need the money to buy a new toy sell. If not gold is still on the rise just hold off until you need it.

bigscoop

Gold Member
Jun 4, 2010
Wherever there be treasure!
Detector(s) used
Older blue Excal with full mods, Equinox 800.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you decide to sell........"DON'T SELL LOCALLY!".....instead, do as Old Man says, knock out any valuable stones and ship them to a refinery. I use Midwest out of Michigan. Last i heard they were still paying 95% of melt value of spot on the day they get it. They have always treated me pretty fairly and the turnaround is usually about a week.

dustytrails123

Bronze Member
Apr 14, 2012
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer Se Pro,Garrett At/Pro,Garrett Ace 350,Tesoro Cibola,Tesoro Outlaw,Bounty Hunter SharpShooter 2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First off dont stop at the local jewelery shop they will give you a fraction of the price..... just scale it and list it on ebay and it will be gone the last platinum my brother sold was a womens and was pretty small but had almost a 700 dollar scrap value .... myself i only keep the silver since the price isnt that great

U.K. Brian

Bronze Member
Oct 11, 2005