1800s Farm...

bk1033

May 16, 2012
Houston
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone. I'm new to metal detecting and to this forum. i just got an ace 250 and i am renting a farm from the 1800-1900s. it is an old german school house and church. it is along the Kansas-Missouri-Texas railroad in cat spring texas (near bellville and sealy). it has a few ponds and it might have a creek. i will not be spending my whole time detecting, but i will devote a few full days to it. i was just wondering what the best place was to detect. i am definitely looking near the house and near the barn. would the railroad or creek be any good? i will mainly be looking for coins and old artifacts. thanks. i'll report my finds!

old digger

Gold Member
Jan 15, 2012
Montana
Detector(s) used
White's MXT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Try and do as much research of the property. Check ''around'' the house, the barn, and do not forget to check around the school. I would even try and locate the old outhouses ( house and school ). Most likely they would have had their own. Good Luck!

OP
OP
B

bk1033

May 16, 2012
Houston
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
thanks for responding. i have looked at some topographical maps (1962 and 1919) and didnt find much. the '62 one showed the house and the lakes but that is all. sorry if it was confusing, but the house/church/school are the same thing. it was a christian elementary school that was also a church. it is now being used as a house and was converted to a house in about the 1940s. how else could i find where the outhouses and such were? i have checked google earth and it only goes as far back as 1995. thanks. (im only 14 so any tips and such would help a lot)
google earth Screen Shot 2012-05-16 at 11.02.13 PM.png google earth Screen Shot 2012-05-16 at 11.02.28 PM.png