The Common Traits of Treasure Hunters

Stand Watie

Mar 24, 2012
Greenwood SC
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi All,

I'm still fairly new to this site but I have read a ton of posts in all the different forums. I've sort of come to the conclusion that almost every treasure hunter here has some common similar traits or characteristics that they share. When I say "Treasure Hunters" I'm including every type of hunter...gold prospectors, metal detectorist, shipwreck hunters, pre-Columbian artifact seekers, all of us. I'm still pretty new to prospecting and since I've been reading here I've gotten the fever for a metal detector also. That's due to one of those traits I mentioned. Here's my not so expert analysis of us treasure hunters and our characteristics:

1) Vivid Imagination - From reading the posts here I see that all of us have a strong almost childlike imagination. We can conjure all kinds of scenarios of how we think treasure gets to where it is or what we will find on the next outing.

2) Optimism - I think every one of us on this site sees the glass half full. We are an optimistic bunch. If there was one trait that I think everyone of us shares it would have to be optimism. But if you think about it, we have to be optimistic or we wouldn't do what we do. No one who is a pessimist would go out looking for gold or buried treasures of whatever type over and over, day after day. A pessimist would give up after the first couple of times out. This leads me to another trait in my list...

3) Dogged determination - We are definitely a determined bunch of people. Some would probably say we were bullheaded, I prefer determined. We have a stick-to-it-of-ness unlike most people. We will hit a site with a metal detector that has been hit hard or that we have hit over and over and we will do it expecting to make that 'big find' this time (optimism). Or we will pan around that same big rock in the creek a hundred times, each time expecting to find that hidden nugget.