Old Roads

nightowl

Jun 1, 2012
Coker, Alabama
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I was wondering if any of you have ever had any luck searching on old roads. The guy that lives next to me owns about 800 acres behind me that has an old house on it and an old grown over road that went by the house. He said I could hunt there when I get my MD. Just looking for ideas on how to hunt it and if the road is worth it or should I stick to the area around the house? The land is mostly woods and has not really been touched since the late 1800. Would it be worth searching in the woods? How far from the old house should I go. I am new to this and any ideas would be helpful...

curbdiggercarl57

Silver Member
Nov 19, 2007
Largo, Florida
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites Silver Eagle, DFX, Shadow X-2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
In some areas it can be the best place to dig.
I know one former member of Eureka! detecting club found a five dollar gold coin in the ruts of an old wagon train road out here in Colorado. The coin was curved, from all the wagon wheels running over it.
Plus, you have to realize how many people walked up and down those old roads.
But in the end, hit everywhere!
Go around the house first to gain experience, remembering to try and not destroy the yards, fill your holes properly, then maybe hit the woods.
Look for any cellar holes in the woods, or any deep depressions, and dig around them.
Good luck!
Carl

OP
OP
nightowl

nightowl

Jun 1, 2012
Coker, Alabama
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting