Metal detecting in the Outer Banks, NC

Abulldog

Jun 12, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Next month we are going on vacation to a campground near Cape Hatteras, NC. My mother-in-law wanted to go metal detecting while we were there and purchased a metal detector yesterday. She used to do it as a hobby with her husband before he passed away, and thought it wou be a good thing to do with the grandchildren while we were there. While I was searching for more information on places to go while we were there I came across this site (which is great btw :icon_thumright: ). Being a total noob to detecting I thought I would ask if there are any regulations regarding metal detecting there and if anyone knows of any good places to take them to hunt. I would greatly appreciate any information that anyone can give me.

Thank you in advance

Abulldog

nightowl

Jun 1, 2012
Coker, Alabama
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have not been there in a while, but when I was a kids my dad had a metal detector and we would go walk the beaches there and find things. There were no restrictions on it then. This was back in the 80's so hopefully somebody who has been there recently can give you better advise.

Let me know how you do because we are thinking of going there again in the fall or next spring.... Good luck hunting and most of all have fun.

OP
OP
A

Abulldog

Jun 12, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for the reply. I have no idea about anything involving metal detectors. So I thought this would be a good place to ask. She wants to walk on the beach with the kids and see what they can find. I thought it would be a good idea as the kids would have something to do while I go fishing. :)

TerryC

Gold Member
Jun 26, 2008
Yarnell, AZ
Detector(s) used