Research help

HobokenHam

Tenderfoot
Jul 1, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am totally new to metal detecting but am enthusiastically looking forward to hunting. Several years ago my wife and I purchased a cabin in north east PA, a town called Dingmans Ferry. Along with the 1.9 acres that came with our cabin we also have a 1/10 th interest in the surrounding 450 acres. It's kind of like having your own park. I know nothing of the history of the area and would like to see if there is information that would help start the hunt. I have tried the Internet but really have found nothing useful. Where can I get more information? Was the land farmed at one time, civil or revolutionary war activity, etc. I am just unsure where to get info. Push comes to shove this weekend I'll be out there and just start. I have a Teknetics T2 by the way.
Thanks

RelicHunter

Greenie
Jul 2, 2012
Leitchfield, KY
Detector(s) used
E-Trac, White's Coinmaster Pro / Garrett Pro Pointer, Lesche Digging Tool
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm a newbie also and didn't know much about where I was going to dig until I started asking around and someone told me to go to the historical society and I could find out things there. They was right, if I was you I'd see if there is a Historical Society around you and stop in. They have a ton of knowledge!

OP
OP
H

HobokenHam

Tenderfoot
Jul 1, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good point. I will check and see if there is one.
Thanks for the tip.

flyadive

Bronze Member
Jun 11, 2012
NJ
Detector(s) used
Whites
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Be very carefully, I think your in the Delaware Watergap national recreation area witch is federal land and you cannot metal detect on federal land

OP
OP
H

HobokenHam

Tenderfoot
Jul 1, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting