electriceye

Jun 23, 2012
Colorado
Detector(s) used
Minelab ETrac (purchase pending)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello All-

I posted the below thread in another area but got no replies so I'm hoping someone can answer a few simple questions.
I also have another post (with my first find) but that's a different area. http://www.treasurenet.com/forums/todays-finds/300725-very-strange-rock-find-ever-seen-before.html

Well, let's see. I'm a newbie when it comes to detecting, but figure I will learn at my own pace like everyone else. I have been considering the E-Trac (new or used) as it sounds like a good all around purchase. If it is not water proof, however that may be a deal breaker for me as I intend to hit alot of streams, rivers and lake areas. Do they make a waterproof coil for it? The CTX3030 sounds intriuging as well, but not sure I want to fork out that much for my first good detector.

Another possible issue: I have alot of titanium in my body- 17 3" screws, plates and skeletized framework(unfortunately). Is this going to cause an issue with readings even though titanium is non-ferrous? I don't want to sell my beautiful pistol to get a super metal detector only to find I cannot use one...because I'm part terminator now. :sadsmiley:

cntrydncr1

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2007
Bradenton, Fl
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Minelab Excal II, ETrac, Infiniuim
guess you need to try one out. see if you can find someone in your area who has a machine to test.

norbyx

Jun 3, 2012
San Jose
Detector(s) used
Actual: Whites MXT All Pro, M6 and Tesoro Sand Shark

Ex: BH Platinum, Tesoro Lobo, ST & Tejon, Teknetics Delta, Whites MXT, V3i, Dual Field, MX5; DP Wader, Garrett At-PRO, Fisher Gold Bug 2, CZ-70Pro
Primary Interest:
Other