Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Jul 2012

trouble with my ace 250

Im a newbie to this site n md. Im having problems telling if it is trash or something good. I usually dig everything so i can get familiar with my machine but i will pick up a tone that is all over the place n dig it n than the object disappears! Im just looking for tips to find anything worthwhile!

Dec 2007
    Culdesac, Idaho
    62 times
    There are two common reasons for having ghost signals with a metal detector. The first being that you could be wearing steel toe boots and are getting too close to your foot. The second being that the object is so small that you dig it up without realizing it.

For the second reason, people tend to use a pinpointer. A small wand-like device that can help you find tiny metal objects.

When you are metal detecting, what you should be looking for is a nice steady tone. That tone should be the same if you pass over the same spot more than once.
    Once you get the hang of it, you will begin to notice the tone differences between coins, pulltabs, nails, and other objects. But there is nothing wrong with digging everything up.

us
    Garrett watersports!

Apr 2011
    Pennsylvania
    Ace250,AT Pro & Garrett Propointer!
    182 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting
    Quote Originally Posted by allen_idaho View Post
    There are two common reasons for having ghost signals with a metal detector. The first being that you could be wearing steel toe boots and are getting too close to your foot. The second being that the object is so small that you dig it up without realizing it.

For the second reason, people tend to use a pinpointer. A small wand-like device that can help you find tiny metal objects.

When you are metal detecting, what you should be looking for is a nice steady tone. That tone should be the same if you pass over the same spot more than once.