Metal Detecting in town parks?

Davisdog

Jul 18, 2006
Spanaway, WA
Detector(s) used
Discovery 3300
Not a recomendation, but here is what I do: I search for ordinances or regulations prohibiting it. If I can't find any, then I do my thing. Especially in my town, where my tax dollars are maintaing the parks.

On private property, ALWAYS get permission first! On public property, activities are either prohibited by statute, or they are ok.

Good luck and happy hunting.

DCMatt

Gold Member
Oct 12, 2006
Herndon Virginia
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 600, EX II, & Musketeer, White's Classic
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
JT2,

I believe it depends on your local or state laws.

I'm new to this hobby, too. I did research and found it is a class 1 misdemeanor to detect and/or dig on "public property" in the state of Virginia without a special permit. The permits are only issued to professional historians and archaeologist or amateurs who are "recognized experts". In otherwords, NOT ME!

Do some research for your area.

DCMatt

gold fish

Bronze Member
Sep 21, 2006
N.W.A.
Detector(s) used
Tesoro - Cortez Minelab SE
It really depends what state you are in. Usually, if the parks are maintained with tax dollars, you're free to have at it, just don't leave a mess or they can hit you with vandalism(not to mention giving MDing a bad name, that might get you hit with God-knows-what, most of these psychos carry shovels!!!!). I have heard of states like virginia, and I personally believe that's TOTAL crap. I honestly feel bad for people that MD in states like that. In general, I agree with davisdog, if they don't say no, then the answer is yes.

minelab rick

Jul 1, 2006
Charlottesville, Va
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer XS