Ace 250 "long signal" question

Shorty Buckshot

Aug 19, 2012
Northeast Indiana
Detector(s) used
Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am pretty new to detecting and have an ACE 250...Watched the videos on youtube and read alot about the 250...been doing a few parks, schools and such... nothing but clad and junk so far...Today I was in the yard basically practicing using the pinpointer on the 250....At first I thought it was just me but not so sure now....I am running in jewelry mode with sensitivity at 4 bars...all coins in play with iron/foil, tabs discrimed out....

So I get a signal (usually in penny or dime range) and use the pinpointer...I narrow down the field first by swinging side to side...once I get that where it needs to be, I start pulling the coil back...from limited experience and what I have seen and read, once the signal disappears the target is normally right underneath the front innner coil just at the small t section where it attaches to the outer coil....what I have noticed multiple times is that as I pull the coil back toward me the signal fades but is still audible...the bars have now disappeared from the display but I can still faintly hear the signal, what I call a "long signal"....by the time the audible signal is completely gone, the coil has been pulled back at least twice its length....most times I dig there and find nothing.....

My question is....should I dig at the point where the bars fade from the display or maybe I am doing something wrong? As I said...if I dig where the audible signal completely stops I don't find the target and end up with a crater instead of a hole trying to find the target....maybe its just the nature of the beast?

Any help, suggestions or pointers would be much appreciated...Shorty

0121stockpicker

Silver Member
Aug 3, 2012
MA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting