Newbie looking for advice - long winded post

junkless

Nov 4, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been interested in metal detecting for a long time. I'm only now getting serious about buying a detector and researching potential spots. Here is what I need help with

Regarding mineralized soil. How do I tell if my area might be mineralized? I'm located in Wisconsin and plan on hunting all over the state. The majority of my hunting will take place in the sections of Wisconsin where the glacial features are most prominent. This is due to the fact our cabin is located right on the border of the last glacial push. The landscape is extremely rocky with the soil being a type of silt loom. Also, how does this affect my decision for the type of detector I purchase?

I do not want to spend a lot of money, $300 max, as I'm brand new to the hobby. Are there any concerns with buying a used detector? What should I look out for if I do purchase a used detector? The $300 will be on just the swinger, I'll be buying a pinpointer at a later time.

A question that probably gets asked more than any other... What would be a good detector to consider? My initial thoughts are I'd like something fairly user friendly, reliable, and with room to grown. The obvious contenders are Garrett, Fisher, Tesoro, and Whites. I'm leaning towards a used Tesoro or Whites as they seem to have a good reputation and performance. If I buy new I'm leaning towards Garrett or Fisher as they seem to have decent entry level units. Any flaws in my reasoning?

On to potential sights.

When you hunt private land are you offering any share of proceeds if you find something of value? Do you have a "waiver" or "contract" you provide to the land owner to help with the potential issues of finding valuables?

Is hunting in water, shallow streams and shoreline, any different than hunting dry land? Does freshwater matter when dealing with mineralized soil?