Starting out

Jones Dallas

Jan 16, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to detecting and wanted to ask how do you go about finding areas to venture on. I am assuming that when you find a area you approach the owners for permission. As I understand it you are not allowed to dig on public land. Just looking for alittle clarification how everyone goes about it.

Thanks

Dwight S

Apr 26, 2010
NC
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT-Pro & White's TDI & Tesoro Compass uMax
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Simple answer, research. Read history books about your local area. Study old maps looking for sites that could be accessible. Ask family, friends, coworkers. There's plenty of places to hunt. And just because it has a new structure on it, doesn't mean something old isn't there. I've hunted two house sites that are from the 1960s and have found old silver. Both sites had old farm houses on them many years earlier...

As for "public land"... Check with your local city/county governmemt if you are talking about parks. Most local county parks are fine with detecting as long as you don't make a mess. Keep your holes neat and carry out your trash. (WHAT TOM in CA siad... BELOW)

if you are talking about state & federal historic sites such as battlefields, then NO!!! Do not try detecting these areas. You could research these areas and possibly gain permission to adjoining, privately owned property, but stay off the historic site.

There are LOTS of threads on this site regarding research and where to hunt. Make the SEARCH feature your friend.

Good luck and welcome.
Dwight

Last edited:

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
Jones-Dallas, as for the 2nd part of your question (about "digging on public land"), it depends on what you mean by "digging" and it depends on what you mean by "public land".