Needing help choosing the right metal detector

oxtail

Jan 31, 2013
Chillicothe,Ohio
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello there,

I live in chillicothe, ohio and I want to get a new metal detector for finding relics and coins. I had thought about the garrett ace 250 but I want to be able to use it at the beach in salt water areas also. One of my concerns is that we have iron rich areas around also and want to get as deep down as possible "not sure exactly if iron and discrimination could effect my depth range". The biggest challenge is the areas I am hunting the most which are public parks "lots of pull tabs and foil". I don't know what to look for though since I'm new to this.

Thanks for the help!
D.L.Tennant
Oxtail

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You will have to go with a multi-frequency VLF metal detector to detect at the beach and on dry sand, dirt and fresh water. That starts around $1,000.00 new. Minelab Safari comes to mind. The quest for the perfect metal detector to this point has been quixotic. Minelab, has come the closest to building a fully submersible beach machine that can discriminate out iron in wet sand and saltwater. The “Excalibur” uses Broad Band Spectrum, or “BBS” technology, and retails for about $1,300.00.