Question for the Metal Detectors out there, need advice for my kids please!

THR214

Feb 18, 2013
New Jersey
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Question for the Metal Detector's out there, need advice for my kids please!

Hi everyone, between watching the treasure hunter shows on TV...Diggers, Savage...BOOM BABY!!!..lol my twin boys are now wanting to begin there hunt to look for treasure's!!! Since I just started playing around with panning, I just do not know where to start with Detector's..lol As you can tell, I need help figuring out what is a good one for them to start with. I'm not looking for a crappy one that is just a toy, I do want them to have a decent type, at least with them looking and being interested in the hobby, they may actually have a chance to find something as opposed to the others that are bought just to keep them quiet for a few hours..lol This may sound crazy, but they are only 6 yrs old but they want to do it, so I say "Go For It"..lol I love looking for stuff as well, so it could be a great bonding thing that can only bring us closer to similar interests in the future!!
Now They like the colors of the Wildgame Innovations Cyclone kids metal detector, but Google searching, alot of sites say that the Bounty Hunter Junior Treasure tracker metal detector is the best choice for kids. Does anyone have any options they can give, or tried for their own kids?
Any help will bring me 1 step closer to the purchase!!! (And to have them stop driving me crazy over it..lol)
Thank you all

TreasurePirate69

Jan 20, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have the BH Junior Treasure tracker. It is not bad but it is also not great. It is probably one of the best detectors designed specifically for children. Most of the other child detectors are just toys and are complete garbage.

The good things about the BH junior:

1. It is light and has a short enough shaft for a 6 year old to use.
2. It has decent discrimination (but not great - see below).