First step is admitting I have a problem, where do I go from here?

KJ&nugget

Mar 9, 2013
Republic of South Afrika and Wa. State USA
Detector(s) used
I use a garrett AT pro.
My son uses a Technetics Delta 4000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My son and I have been digging up earth like rooting hogs for the last several months. I wanted him to get a better detector as my AT Pro is just so much better then his Whites Prizm.

However I'm thinking rather then pull him up to another level, maybe I just give him the AT Pro and I move up to the next level. So with this thought, what is the next level from the AT Pro, or is that really good enough for hobby level treasure hunting?

What does a 1000.00-1200.00 or so detector get me beyond what the AT pro provides? I've read some reviews on the Etrac and the F75 but it's hard without using them to understand the way they actually function in the real world.

Those of you with a good feel for the $1000.00 or so detectors give me some feedback on what can be expected for the additional investment. I don't need another submersible unit. just the ability to reach into the water knee deep. I've been sucked into this now and there is no light at the end of the tunnel. I have this sickness to find and dig stuff up.

rwd mo

Jul 26, 2011
SW Mo
Detector(s) used
Minelab/whites/Tesoro/
Primary Interest:
Cache Hunting