some of my findings

herr

Jan 11, 2007
New Zealand
Hello guys

Being a newbie here and reading all those interesting stories and finds, I decided to "stick" around here.

During my childhood years, being born and raised in Flanders, Belgium , I have discovered alot of things but unfortunately have no pictures of them to show.

Just to share some of my experiences.

Me and a friend used (still now too) to love to play in the bunkers which were plotted all around the country side.
Many dating back to pre-world war 1 (early 1900's) and some of World War 2.
Now just to play in those was enough excitement for a militaria buff like us, but then deciding to take a small shovel and a chisel added more fuel to the fire.
So we headed off, going to a bunker we called "the potato bunker" as in it was in the middle of a farmers potato field.
It was bricked up but some bricks were missing so we chiseled our way in.
My friend was too scared to go in so I went in.
Except for a few old wooden shelves there wasn't much to see but then I nearly tripped over something stoicking out of the ground.
Dug it up and it was a thin piece of metal, rounded, with bulletholes in them.
Later I thought it to be a piece of bucket.
Pretty stoked about it I pulled it all out and discovering a bone underneath.
It was a long bone, thick, and since the opening is too small it must have been human, it did look like a thigh bone.
Scared as I was I jumped out and we both ran.
We were like 11 and scared so we didn't go to the cops about it or told anyone, which I now really regret doing.
The bunker has now been demolished.

At 15 years of age I joined an amateur archaeological group and we set out under the supervision of archaeologists, to excavate an medieval abbey in Ename (which is now a tourist attraction).
It was an amazing experience, from animal bones, to mural paintings to medieval coins.