600 to spend. What do i buy?

bodhisattva

Tenderfoot
Aug 4, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello. I am a noob to the hobby myself, but the metal detector people keep telling me is to get the Garret AT Pro. This will fall right in your budget.

Ronzie

May 27, 2009
Southern Ontario
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Outlaw w/Garrett pinpointer

past machines - Minelab Explorer SE Pro/ Garrett GTI 2500 /Garrett GTAx1000
Garrett AT Pro or a Tesoro Vaquero or Outlaw. Starting out with a Tesoro will really tune your ears as those 2 don't have a display screen. Imo would be perfect for a new user.

AC500

Apr 30, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Just get an AT Pro and a pin pointer....done.

twoauers

Jul 7, 2013
Nashville
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Go to Kelleyco on line; I highly recomend the Garrett Ace Pro, it is well worth it, it has the depth to get you below the trash line the good features, and it can grow with your knowledge.

If you are serious with the Hobby- You will not be wanting to buy another after about 60 days, I did not do that, and I regreted it after about 2 months of use, I should have went with the At Pro first and not wasted my money on the first detector I did buy.

It Has versility and is easy to operate. Very well worth it. Stay with the 8in coil to start, then you can add coils later. Go with the Garrett Pro Pointer also, that would give you the best package to start off with.

Hope this helps
twoauers

Last edited:

VERDE

Bronze Member
Jun 6, 2013
Louisiana
Detector(s) used
AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey Wsperow! I agree with AC500 and the rest of the AT Pro family!! Do yourself a favor and go with the AT Pro!! Dynamie little unit!! Go with the smaller coil and you will never regret it!! GOOD HUNTING!! VERDE!!

OP
OP
W

Wsperow

Greenie
Aug 6, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting