differance btwn metal detectors

fantum

Feb 23, 2007
Missouri
Detector(s) used
ace 250
I am new to metal detecting & thinking about buying an ace 250 as I've already read from ya'll is a great starter detector. I don't understand all of the description in ads I'm so new to this... Does it have where it shows what youre' digging for? an actual picture or outline of item? would it be better to get the GTAx 550 Coin Discrimination with Visual Target ID now if I can afford it? do they both have that? I would really like something that shows what the target is & goes as deep as possible. Is the coil size just for how big of an area it sweeps at once? any info anyone can give me would be most appreciated.

Stacylee926

Dec 29, 2006
Portsmouth, VA
Detector(s) used
ACE 250; Discovery 1100
Yes, the ACE is a great starter. However, my starter was a Bounty Hunter - with 3 tones that just told you what type of metal was in the ground. Once I used it for 2 months I decided that I REALLY love to MD and got the ACE.

Basically there are indicators that show a bottlecap, penny, nickel, pull tab, quarter etc. When the MD gets a signal, an arrow points to the type of item in the ground. However, just because is says a nickel - does not mean it really is! The quarter and dime signals are almost always correct though. Then the indicator on the side shows how deep the object is.

The coil actually detects outside of the ring a bit, but as you move it around you zero in on the object. One of the great features of the ACE is the pinpoint mode. When you get a signal, you push and hold the pinpoint button as you swing over the target. The tone stays steady and is loudest when it is directly over the object - a very cool feature.