I give up

Jan 14, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I Live a treasure hunters dream. I spend 6-8 weeks a year in st Martin living in a small apartment on orient beach. Three years ago I decided to try metal detecting to give me something to do for a couple hours a day. Cruise ships full of tourists, many with lots of jewelry, arrive daily. As an engineer I wanted a good detector to use on the beach and surf. I purchased an Excaliber II. How hard could this be? After 3 years I have not found even 1 gold ring or chain. I hunt about 2 hours almost every day. Found lots of clad coins, junk rings and 1 good silver bangle. But with all the time I put in I thought I'd find at least 1 piece of gold. I am so frustrated. I have read several pamphlets, tried all different kinds of settings and hunted several beaches. Still no gold. I know it's here and in all the time I've been here I've only seen 1 other hunter for a day. I think the machine is over my head. What I wouldn't give for a teacher.

dave sharky

Aug 27, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
hello there are so many kinds you can buy get one that tells you gold or silver and sell that on ebay don,t ever give up and go back over where you were i found when it rains i find more on the beach i looked on a beach and every day i would find more that i missed your right its there keep trying and keep your chin up and you don.t all ways find great finds we all have are days garret just came out with a new one for like 2300 or buy the cheaper one that will go up to ten feet deep for around 700 good luck better days are coming.

Mobius1

Sep 10, 2013
Orange, California
Detector(s) used
Minelab X-Terra 305 (two years experience)
E-trac (currently learning)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting