So... Please tell me Why does a metal detector cost $2499 again?

Status
Not open for further replies.

el padron

Oct 29, 2010
Southern California
Detector(s) used
The content of this space is contingent upon principals acceptance, execution and or final disposition / funding of an approved product endorsement agreement
Primary Interest:
Other
Hello again,
Ive been detecting with an SGT for two years and enjoy the hobby a lot. Ive noticed that all sorts of electronics just keep getting cheaper as I get older.
Flat screen TV's are a fraction of what they cost just 6 or seven years ago.
Ham Radios, sell for 25% what you would have paid for their equivalent in the 80's.
Microwave ovens? They used to cost $700 in the late 60's, today they cost $49.99....

On and on and on....
So why do metal detectors that look and feel like they should cost $40.00 cost many hundreds more, and just KEEP GETTING MORE EXPENSIVE WITH EVERY PASSING YEAR?
Just curious...

Mach1Pilot

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2008
Bedford County, PA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab, Fisher, Teknetics and more!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Performance. If a machine doesn't perform, it would not sell. Period. A bad detector might sell intially with some hype, but sales will die if they don't perform in the hands of the user.

There is no greater example of this than in Northern Virginia, where a whole bunch of serious relic hunters have a GPX 4800 or GPX 5000. Why? Performance. In that dirt, nothing else works as well as one of the $5000 Minelabs. Its all been tried...

And the thing is - when (not if) something else comes along that tops it, all of those GPXs will be for sale while everyone jumps ship to the new machine.