New at Metal Detecting

Buckwheat

Apr 20, 2014
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Howdy all, I am new at this metal detecting and trying to not get discouraged...any advice out there? Have been out in the field for on average around 40 hours now. Still trying to figure out all the sounds that my Garrett Ace 350 does. I read and reread the manual to it and watch instructional videos on YouTube and still not digging up even old coins. Spent most of the day at an awesome early 1800's homesite....complete with cellar and foundation... wow but not finding anything, just rusty old square nails. Detector says "coins" but dig up nails. I ignore the junk iron targets...just thought surely there would've been something out there today for us to find.

releventchair

Gold Member
May 9, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other