Apr 11, 2013
Maple Valley, WA
Detector(s) used
White's V3i,
Tesoro Vaquero,
Fisher F75
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Yesterday I went to an old town site. I'm fairly new to metal detecting and the Tesoro Vaquero in particular.
Firstly, I had an extremely difficult time finding a spot to ground balance. Regardless of where I placed the coil, it would beep. The ground was full of old nails and iron.
Once I balanced, I kept creeping the discriminate up until I was finally on max. Even there, each swing gave me a beep, beep, beep with some scratchy iron in between.
I could not make a swing without at least a few signals sounding good. I dug a ton of old nails and iron. I also switched to a 5.3 concentric, the only other coil I have for it.
What I did find is if the signal sounded good in discriminate, but did not sound good in all metal, I started to ignore.
So how come I can't discriminate most of the iron on max?
Any tips or pointers from Vaquero users in a turn of the 20th century town site? I have purchased and read the Tesoro Tejon / Vaquero book.

Perhaps I should be using a different detector on this site. I also have a Tesoro Deleon with standard coil and a White's XL pro with a full range of coils.
The only one I'm really familiar with is the Deleon.
I'm mostly invested in coin shooting

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Hot zone

Bronze Member
Apr 26, 2012
Clark County Washington
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark 8" coil, vaquero 8"x9" and 5.75" WS, clean sweep coil, Gray ghost deep woods headphones

Whites TRX pointer
, Garrett gold stinger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting