I need some expert advice

bushido

Greenie
Feb 14, 2007
Detector(s) used
DFX
Hi everybody... My name is Paul and I am fairly new to MD'ing. About a month ago I bought an inexpensive machine and fell in love. Next I purchased a DFX from a local dealer. I have been hunting several times and here is my question. What do you do when you find a good target? By this I mean do you set your machine down, take off your head phones or do you just unplug them. I have tried both ways and when I left the head phones I got tangled, when I unplugged them I would forget to plug them back in. Another thing is that I am right handed and hold my machine with my right hand but it is a pain to dig and scrape with my left hand. I'm just trying to get some " on the job " advice from all you old timers out there so as to save me time with my learning curve. All info will be appreciated, tried and tested. Thanks guys, take care...Paul

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006
South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the h
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm right handed & run the headphone cord behind my back. When I knee or squat I set my detector down off to my right and slightly behind so the cord is away and off behind me.

You don't want to be unplugging the headphone for every target. It will eventually wear out the contacts! Especially if it gets gritty while loose.

T

treasurejack

Charlie P. (NY) said:
I'm right handed & run the headphone cord behind my back. When I knee or squat I set my detector down off to my right and slightly behind so the cord is away and off behind me.

You don't want to be unplugging the headphone for every target. It will eventually wear out the contacts! Especially if it gets gritty while loose.