Im a total newbie.

KenPa

Apr 7, 2006
Easton, Pa.
Detector(s) used
Whites XLT
Re: I'm a total newbie.

Welcome. It depends on what your looking to spend. I keep hearing the Ace250 is a great machine to start with and you will need a good digging tool and a pinpointer is very handy but not a necessity. Just remember that for every nice find there is probably 100 nails and pull tabs so one of the most important things you will need is patience and the good stuff will come. Good luck and don't be afraid to ask questions, there are alot of great people here and always willing to try to help.

OP
OP
G

GodOfCarrots

Mar 24, 2007

Thanks for the help...and how much does an ACE250 usually run?

goldencoin

Gold Member
Sep 27, 2005
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX & Beach Hunter ID
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

Ace 250 is what you should get. Depends where you get it...the cheapest new one would be on a website called kellyco metal detectors (about 200)

HH
-GC

OP
OP
G

GodOfCarrots

Mar 24, 2007

goldencoin said:
Ace 250 is what you should get. Depends where you get it...the cheapest new one would be on a website called kellyco metal detectors (about 200)

HH
-GC

Awesome..I'm gonna go and grab one. Now I've just got to figure out where to start....I live in the Charlotte area...any suggestions?

Pulltab Parson

Jan 20, 2007
Northwest PA
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon, Tesoro Vaquero, White's Prizm III, White's Bulls-eye Pinpointer II
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting

Hi and welcome to Tnet!!

There is a good population of NCrs' here, I'm sure one of them could help you in that department.

I have heard good things about the ACE250, it was the machine that I was going to get, but then decided on the Whites PrizmIII. The one recomendation that I would give you is, if you have the money, get a pinpointer, they save a lot of time! Oh and get a good diggin tool. . . (I know that s two recomendations). ;D