how to Ground Balance your detector!

DutchDiggers!®

Aug 29, 2014
Detector(s) used
Garrett ADS III Master Hunter
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
sup my tector friends,

let's make a thread/topic on the most difficult thing in history of metal detecting...GROUND BALANCE!

if everyone who owns a detector, and ofcourse knows how to perfect GROUND BALANCE his/her machine, writes here a simple and understandable explenation on how to do it, we all can benefit from it and make metal detecting alot more fun and easier! :)

wow..that was a mouthfull!!! haha

in other words...tell us all how to "ground balance" your type of detector and KEEP IT SIMPLE but EXPLAIN IT WELL! :)

let me kick this topic off..

i have a Garrett ADS III master hunter (1982)

IMG00636-20140821-2104.jpg

*before beginning with the GB procedure, this is very important to do first!

the GB knob is a 10 turn knob which will give a 'slight' drag when the end of rotating is reached! you will be able to turn some more, but it will be invain because you are PAST the end!
so...before turning your machine on, turn this GB knob all the way to the right OR left untill you feel the slight drag.
then STOP turning it right THERE!!! lol
now turn the knob >> 5 << times back and you will be right in the 'centre' position! :)

ok...let's do this sh*t...

- turn disc. knob to zero (0) position

- put sens. knob to max position

- put little AUDIO knob to a 'just hear-able "hummm" sound'

- put switch on the housing to manual position

- press switch on handle to left 1 second and release (VLF ground cancel mode is now ON - top red light on meter blinks!)

- hold coil about 10" above the ground (horizontal level)

- bring coil down to about 4" above the ground
(if the hummm goes louder you have to turn the GB knob >> 2 << full turns to the right (decrease)