DutchDiggers!®

Aug 29, 2014
Detector(s) used
Garrett ADS III Master Hunter
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
hi tec fans,

i got a question for yall..

i have a Garrett ADS III master Hunter VLF/TR and i bought it back in 1982!
awesome machine and still my main teccie!

now i know it came back then with the 5.5 Khz deepseeker coils..but 2 of m broke, so i have just the 12 incher left!
recently i bought a groundhog (small disc) deepseeker coil but it has no sticker on it with the amount of Khz!
i heard the groundhogs were 15.5 Khz machines n everybody says on the internet that those coils of 15.5 Khz dont work on a 5.5 Khz machine!

now..i got the disc on my ADS III..n it works perfect!!! haha
got it groundbalanced to the max n it runs a coin at 6 to 7" deep! :headbang:

is this groundhog maybe NOT a 15.5 Khz coil or is my ADS III NOT a 5.5 Khz machine?

and most of all...can my ADS III break by using a different Khz coil on it...even if it works?

pls help me out here guys...can NOT lose my GRAMPS!

tnx,

GK,
DutchDiggers!®

Last edited:
OP
OP
DutchDiggers!®

DutchDiggers!®

Aug 29, 2014
Detector(s) used
Garrett ADS III Master Hunter
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
cheers bro! :)
but im kinda new here...how do i contact this fella? lol

DeepseekerADS

Gold Member
Mar 3, 2013
SW, VA - Bull Mountain
Detector(s) used
CTX, Excal II, EQ800, Fisher 1260X, Tesoro Royal Sabre, Tejon, Garrett ADSIII, Carrot, Stealth 920iX, Keene A52
Primary Interest:
Other
I had both, the Groundhog I bought for my wife. All THREE have been gone for years now :)

Now as for the detectors, they were great! And they'd still be attractive today, I'd love them in a minute :)

My brain is groggy along with my eyes this morning, but I dug this info up "elsewhere", but you can Google "garrett ads deepseeker schematic" and come up with the same info.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------