Rock22

Sep 9, 2013
Erie Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello,

I am still really new to this detecting stuff so I could use some help. I live on land that was once farmland but is now woods. The land was bought in 1835 and the house built on it in 1840. My home is in about 150 yards behind the old farm house along a bluff that I have found a great bottle dump site. I have been detecting it for about 5 years now but no good finds. I have old maps from the 1930s that give me an idea where the cattle trails led from the barn to my spot but have found only 3 coins in all that searching and they were all from the mid 1940s. Is it possible that the earliest people that lived here just didn't have much so nothing hit the ground or am I doing something wrong? I am just disappointed and ready to give this hobby up. The people that 1st lived here in 1840 were traveling this stretch of land enough to dump that garbage so I will assume that some coins would have fallen out along the way. The bottles range in age from 1850-1920 so where are the coins? Im not in this to get rich,I just enjoy history and cant find coins. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks, Bill

unfound

Apr 15, 2014
Western Pa
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garret Ace 350,
BH Tracker IV,
Garret Pro Pointer,
Lesche Sampson Shovel
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting