I need your advise

1shotwade

May 29, 2014
southern Indiana
Detector(s) used
white 4900/d
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My grandson turns 4 next month and I thought about getting a little detector since he likes to dig up my targets,but they are so expensive.I just looked on amazon and walmart.com and to my supprise there's some in the $40-50 range.Since I'm just starting out myself I don't think I would be a very good judge of these products so I'd like someone more experianced to point me to something(really cheap ) that will last him a couple years to see if it takes with me then at a later date think about a better one.I don't want it to be just "a toy" but rather a "tool" for him.Any ideas guys?Bounty huntes,VLF, and wildgame intovations are the ones I'm seeing but I don't feel competent enough to even choose a mdel.
Thanks all.

Wade

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Tesoro Compadre

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would suggest a Bounty hunters. I'm not familiar with the others

But from looking at the pic of wildgame intovations 50 Dollar detector online it definitely
looks like a toy.
Yes Looks can be Deceiving but Bounty hunter is a more familiar Name.

no matter what, at that price you do get what you pay for .
but it should be good enough for him to learn on

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I see Terry Beat me to the Draw, Tesero may be a Good alternative choice to at least look into.
They are light

Higgy

Bronze Member
Jul 21, 2014
NH