Help with pinpointing site to dig

jenniemd

Tenderfoot
Oct 17, 2014
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
So I am relatively new to metal detecting. I have a Garrett AT Pro machine. I seem to be digging very large holes to find a penny for example...takes me awhile to find it. I do have a vulcan pinpointer which helps once I am in the vicinity, which most times I am not...so I dig and dig until I am in the vacinity and the pinpointer tells me it is there...Frustrating to say the least!

CincinnatiKid

Bronze Member
Nov 5, 2013
Cincinnati Ohio
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Garrett ProPointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Try sweeping north to south, then east to west. Target will be in center of both sweep lines.
The AT is a good machine. With a bit of practice, you'll do just fine.
Good luck
Peace

Papalittle

Apr 17, 2013
Hardy, Nebraska
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Eurotek Pro, Fisher F2, Garrett Ace 250 Teknetics Delta4000
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
The Vulcan 360 can be a pain since it detects 360 degrees. what I do is start probing at the top of hole and slowly work my way down. when the pointer is sounding off really fast you are over the target. if the target is close to the surface (<> 3") I just point the pointer straight down and then move it back and forth until it is sounding off real fast. dig where it is pointing.
Takes a little practice but I now dig a hole less than 3 inches for most shallow coins.

McKinney_5900

Bronze Member
Jul 30, 2010
I am at a loss as to why you are having trouble.. My Garretts Propointers work 360 degrees and both your PPr and the Garretts have proximinity. I say that yoou just need to get used to it. I love my Garretts with 360 degree side detection.

Last edited:

Frankn

Gold Member
Mar 21, 2010
Maryland
Detector(s) used
XLT , surfmaster PI , HAYS 2Box , VIBRA-TECTOR