Studying to hunt treasure

geotracker

Greenie
Apr 6, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys! I'm attending school in the fall to study GIS. I plan on living in my van while attending college. I'm gonna buy a detector so that I can comb the beach and mountains there. Do any of you recommend classes that may help me like learning the soils and such? I know it can be self taught but my school is free because of my service. I decided I want to study something I would enjoy and can use as a hobby with all of the current job ops available for the degree. GIS I just want your rants and raves and opinions. Looking to be apart of this community more in the future.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Welcome from White Plains, NY. :occasion14:

BosnMate

Gold Member
Sep 10, 2010
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT, Whites DFX, Whites 6000 Di Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
Welcome to TNet. I think a geology class/classes would be a great help, nature still has hidden treasures for those that know what they are looking for.

TSCOM

Oct 13, 2014
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Fisher F5, Tesoro Compadre
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've taken a few geology classes and it's mostly about plates and rock not soil. Maybe physical geography or agriculture classes would better.

bigscoop

Gold Member
Jun 4, 2010
Wherever there be treasure!
Detector(s) used
Older blue Excal with full mods, Equinox 800.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting