New to MDing

Nashces

Apr 21, 2007
Columbus GA
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter 4
Hello All,

I go by the nickname of Nash. I am new to MDing for the most part. I use to do this with my Grandfather 20 years ago near Huntington WVA. Well in the last year i've decided to get back outdoors and do things I use to love as a kid.

I've recently got back into the Expensive Hobby of Bowhunting.... And decided I need something to do during the off seasons. I figure why not give MDing a try again.

Currently I don't even own a Detector. SO i guess my first question to you all here is which Detector should I try to start off with?

Take in consideration my Budget is limited due to Bowhunting being a new passion and I have a ex Wife and 3 kids and a New GF with 3 kids of her own. So im looking to get something new and fairly cheap in price but I dont want a junker either.

Anyways any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Nash

Dimeman

Bronze Member
Jan 16, 2007
Houston,TX
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro Fisher F5
For 225 bucks or less, you can get the Garrett Ace 250. It seems to be a decent starter detector and reviews have been very good on it. Lots of T-Netter's have used them and have some good finds.

RON (PA)

Silver Member
Sep 9, 2004
Pittsburgh, Pa
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Compadre & Tiger Shark
Welcome aboard Nash,

This is a great site with a lot of super folks. Glad you are here. As far as the metal detector goes, The Ace 250 or the Tesoro Compadre. I have the Compadre and when I bought it, the Ace was not yet available. I bought the Compadre because I wanted to get into the hobby/obsession but did not want to spend a lot on my first detector. I have very happy with the Tesoro. Check them both out. Let us know what you decide.

OP
OP
Nashces

Nashces

Apr 21, 2007
Columbus GA
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter 4
Also I now live right beside Opelika/Auburn Alabama. Are there any known clubs and such down here that I could go talk to get advice on the proper way to MD?