buying my first metal detector

Mar 23, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Everyone,
I'm new here and a pre-nuby metal detector guy. I live in the good ole USofA and am heading to the Philippines next month. We own a house there and will be spending a month there. I want to take a metal detector with me in my luggage; don't want to spend a fortune on it as it's my first time out of the chute. So what I'm asking for here are some ideas of what to buy, how big it will be (so it will fit in my suitcase) and just some general purchase information. There is an old WWII Japanese encampment very close to where our house is, and I'd love to do a little 'prospecting' around it as well as around our house. Any thoughts?
Thanks, Filipinebernie

MrMikeJackie

Bronze Member
Nov 3, 2013
Long Island
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030,
Xp Deus,
That's it, I'm done.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Minelab GoFind 20/40 (highly packable), Garret Ace 150/250, Whites Coinmaster/Pro, Fisher F2/F3, Teknetics Alpha/Eurotek, Tesoro Compadre, Detectorpro Pirate(highly packable. All these series of detectors will set you on the right path. GL HH Mike

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006
South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the h
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
A month isn't long to order, receive and practice a bit with a detector so you're better off with something relatively "pre-set" and simple.

The Minelab GoPro 40 looks like a great choice, especially for packing & travel, but you probably won't get one anytime soon. They are on "pre-order" as they have just been introduced and it would be a shame to show up two days after you'd gone.

The Fisher F2 or the Teknetics EuroTek Pro would be my recommendation.

RustyGold