Who owns old towns?

diverrick

Jan 18, 2011
Vacaville, CA
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT, Minelab Eureka gold
Primary Interest:
Other
I go detect an old ghost town. Not much of anything to see there anymore, it has all returned to the earth, and mother nature has taken it over completely. My thought was this was once a thriving town, and property was sold to home owners and business people. So I have to assume it changed from being BLM to city property at some point, then private property. So could a person go buy those lots? and who would get the money? or does BLM, just swoop in and take it all over once again? It would be nice to have a cabin or a trailer up there. It is a very quite and peaceful place now, with only a Cemetery to show there was ever a town there at one time, It is good beeping and bottle diggin too.

1shotwade

May 29, 2014
southern Indiana
Detector(s) used
white 4900/d
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm no expert but I would think the place to start would be the county courthouse. You know if at all possible they are going to be collecting taxes from whoever owns it.

Wade

BosnMate

Gold Member
Sep 10, 2010
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT, Whites DFX, Whites 6000 Di Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
Unless they are obviously on private property, I've always figured they revert back to the Forest Service or BLM. At least they act that way anyhow. Summit City is in a wilderness area, and I doubt it's private, although there are mining claims in there, that might be filed on. So I don't know, interesting though, glad you brought it up.

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
simply put it depends on where the old town is.
most of the ghost towns in my are are either on mine land ( owned by Conglomerate)
state Park (owned by State) and state game land (owned by State Game Commission)

OP
OP
D

diverrick

Jan 18, 2011
Vacaville, CA
Detector(s) used