Looking to getting in to the business of gold prospecting

alexias2

Jul 12, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am keen to get into gold prospecting to start a new small business. So far I find around 1/4 - 1/2 ounce per day, with a sluice, but wish to increase my findings. So far I have not sold the gold it as I am still new to this business. Do you think gold prospecting a viable small business?

Also, what is the difference with hard rock vs placer mining. I know the difference in basic terms, but in terms of business and strategy to find it. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each, and some good strategies and equipment, etc. How much can one except to find in a placer prospecting vs hard rock?

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
metal_detector.gif
Noticed this is your very first post - so, Welcome Aboard! While waiting for a member to reply - you might browse Forum > Gold Prospecting Forum > Gold Prospecting...

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am keen to get into gold prospecting to start a new small business. So far I find around 1/4 - 1/2 ounce per day, with a sluice, but wish to increase my findings...

Are you in the Yukon? If you are finding that much gold per day with a sluice then you sure as hell don't need our advice - we need yours!

bigfoot1

Silver Member
Nov 1, 2011
so.cal.mtns.
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
garrett,minelab,fisher,,,atp current weapon of choice
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting